Wiltshire Groups

The Wiltshire Branch of the Campaign to Protect Rural England has a central office in Devizes and is split into the four geographical groups listed below. Each group deals with district and parish issues and then comes together collectively to address county issues.

Sarah Rose Troughton – Lord Lieutenant of Wiltshire and President

Mrs Troughton is Her Majesty The Queen’s representative in Wiltshire and took up the post of HM Lord-Lieutenant in February 2012. She lives near Swindon with her husband Peter and they have three children and nine grandchildren. She has held several voluntary positions both within and outside Wiltshire for a number of years and was particularly involved with the Community Foundation for Wiltshire and Swindon and Youth Action Wiltshire. She maintains a keen interest in all aspects of life within Wiltshire as a whole, including council services, commerce and industry, the Armed Forces, along with many voluntary, community and charity groups and organisations.

Anne Henshaw – Chairman

Charmian Spickernell – Vice Chairman

Charmian has lived in Wiltshire since 1970.  She joined CPRE in 1981 when there were inner city riots because developments had occurred on the outskirts of towns and cities, leaving the centres dead.  From being the fastest growing town in Europe, Swindon’s economy collapsed when the centre declined.  She is particularly keen on CPRE’s campaigning for sound planning to address social, environmental and economic issues equally.   She is also concerned about the weakening of local democracy: at times the developers are an all too powerful lobby and we need the help of more people, parish councils and other NGOs to ensure the voice for environmental and social issues is heard.  We are still some way off from government and the people deciding what and where development should take place before inviting the developers to bid for it.

Geraldine White – Administrator


Mike Manson – Project Officer

Mike was a career soldier in the Royal Artillery, retiring as a Colonel in 2008 having been based in England and Germany and having been on operations in Northern Ireland and on exercise in many countries.  He was then a management consultant until joining CPRE Wiltshire in 2015.  He has lived in Wiltshire since 1993, firstly in Shrivenham, then in Wilton and now in Bratton (near Westbury) since 1999.

He works part-time and his main tasks with CPRE Wiltshire are to run the Best Kept Village Competition, to manage the website and to manage membership.  When not doing this he is a volunteer worker for many aspects of his village and he also rows stroke for a veterans VIII at Bradford-on-Avon Rowing Club.


(post vacant and being advertised)

North Wiltshire and Swindon Group

Chairman – Mrs. Anne Henshaw
Tel: 01249 816182
Email: annehenshaw@freeuk.com

Hon. Secretary – Post vacant – volunteers wanted

Kennet Group

Acting Chairman – Kate Fielden

Secretary – Sue Hine

Email: kennetcpre@googlemail.com

South Wiltshire Group

Chairman – Dr Suzanne Keene

Email: mail@suzannekeene.com

West Wiltshire Group

Chairman – John Eaton
Email: john.eatonpdq@gmail.com

Hon Membership Secretary – Ken McCall
Tel: 01225 761092
Email: sandraandken@hotmail.co.uk

Two people searching for something against a cloudy blue sky